Allergic Reaction?? Help please

3 posters

Go down

Allergic Reaction?? Help please Empty Allergic Reaction?? Help please

Post by Cainybobs Sun Sep 11 2011, 00:30

Sorry to bother you all as you have prob come across this before but I am new to this -

My dog Cain has small bumps on his back & I have notice a few dotted around else where, if you stroke him his back legs start going to scratch, so obviously it is itchy to the touch for him, i have also noticed red patches on the inside of his back legs where he has been biting at them. I have tried piriton incase it was a reaction to something but this has not worked. I have bathed him today & noticed his fur where the bumps are is very thin & in some places bald......any ideas what it could be or how I can treat it before another expensive trip to the vets (we already go once a month for a hormone implant to reduce his testoterone).

Thanks in advance

Gemsie = Cainybobs

Cainybobs
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Dogs Name(s) : Cain
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Allergic Reaction?? Help please Empty Re: Allergic Reaction?? Help please

Post by Guest Sun Sep 11 2011, 00:49

Hello & welcome to the forum.

Has he been in contact with any cut grass? I've found that the grass sap can cause an allergic reaction. However, if that were the case I would have thought that the piriton would help.

Have you changed anything? His food, washing powder etc? He may get s a little relief if you smooth some sudocrem onto the sore bits, but I'm afraid that if it doesn't help quickly, you'll be stuck with another trip to the vets. Sad

Does he have the hormone implants because he's too old to be castrated or because he has a prostate problem? How long has he been having them?

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sun Sep 11 2011, 08:48

Hello and welcome