Puppy staying alone

3 posters

Go down

Puppy staying alone Empty Puppy staying alone

Post by sunil989 Sun Jul 29 2018, 18:10

Hi, this is my first time posting on the forum. I would like some advice for my 3 month old staffy Leo.

I was wondering how long staffy pups can usually stay alone for as there is times in the day where I cannot be with him. when I usually put him in his crate and leave the room he will start to bark and whine for 10-15 minutes then stop again for 10 minutes then continue to bark. I would like to give him some training and teach him that staying alone is ok. How can I show him that staying alone is ok and how long should he be staying alone per day?

Thank you

Sunil

sunil989
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Your Country : Denmark
Dogs Name(s) : Leo
Dog(s) Ages : 3 months
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Puppy staying alone Empty Re: Puppy staying alone

Post by gillybrent Sun Jul 29 2018, 19:06

Hi & a warm welcome.

Most pups will whine/cry when left alone - that's perfectly natural. Remember that until you picked him up he was with mum & siblings 24 hours a say! A little adjustment time is to be expected.

How long is he on his own? Is it mainly at night? How was he introduced to his crate?

gillybrent
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :

Female
Support total : 456

Back to top Go down

Post by sunil989 Sun Jul 29 2018, 20:44

Hi there, thank you for the reply.
When we got him at 2 months old, we had started by leaving him alone for 20 minutes around twice a day and we have gradually increased it to an hour however the barking and whining is consistent throughout the time he spends alone. He will also bark and whine if I leave him in the garden while cooking, taking a shower etc. I would like him to be more comfortable being left alone.

He is brilliant at night, we don't hear a peep from him. He will also go back to sleep as soon as I let him to relieve himself.