tad worried

4 posters

Go down

tad worried Empty tad worried

Post by lucahkobe Thu Nov 28 2013, 10:25

Hi everyone. . Im new to this so just have a couple of things I wanted opinions on :-)
Our family got a staffy cross just over a month ago now and up until a couple of weeks ago he had been great but he had started nipping at my kids and myself a bit and jumping up ect. So we got in a dog helper to get the behavior under wraps before it got out of hand. . He gave us a lot of useful ttips that we are putting in place but still having a couple of issue. I called him and he said because of the cross (his mum has s bit of shar pei in her which I couldn't see in her and as far as I was told the dad was a staffy) the could be issues and it could be hard which had left me in a bit of a heart wrenching rut as to whether I made the right choice for my family with small children the last thing I want is an aggressive dog that may hurt mine or others children? ?

lucahkobe
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

tad worried Empty Re: tad worried

Post by Guest Thu Nov 28 2013, 11:06

Hi there, please come and introduce yourself here...
https://staffy-bull-terrier.niceboard.com/f7-new-member-introductions
Big Grin 

Firstly, please don't get hung up on what sort of cross he is. All breeds have good and bad points, and the chances of your dog picking up the bad poiunts from a 'bit of shar pei' are very small! Anyway, the majority of behavioural issues can be sorted out with consistent training, so there's every positive to look forward to.

What has your trainer told you to do?

With the nipping, what's usually recommended is that you give either a stern "No" or a high pitched yelp (works with puppies, but less so with adults) and then turn away & ignore for a few seconds - don't even look at him. Once he's calm, give quiet praise.