Night time walks

4 posters

Go down

Night time walks Empty Night time walks

Post by BetsyBoo Thu Oct 25 2012, 20:40

Hi all!
I'm a fairly new (and totally besotted) doggy owner and as the nights are drawing in, I'm wondering what you do for nightime walks?

I've had Betsy as a rescue for about 6 months now. She's pretty good with her recall in open space, mainly through her ball obsession and love of treats. I've started to become more adventurous with our walks where she's getting to meet more new dogs too. I've followed the advice on here and am going with the 50m lead until I'm 100% confident with recall.
I am a bit worried about off lead (or with 50m lead) night time walks though. This is more about not being able to see other dogs, but also people as she can present herself with a Betsy barge. We had a couple of occassions in her early days where she reacted to other dogs. I am still learning with her and looking back realise that some of that could have been prevented which is easier when it's daytime.

This is only really a problem 3 days a week as the rest I can give her the morning and early afternoon wallks off lead and a short evening on lead. I'm wondering whether on those 3 days to stick to a knackering late morning one, and on lead evening walk with plenty of stimulation or sometimes an on lead run? We've recently started this and it really knackers her out . I'm just conscious that's she's losing out on other doggy pal time.

Any thoughts, or feedback on what you do would really be appreciated
Thanks Sam & Betsy Smile
BetsyBoo
BetsyBoo
Loyal Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Loyal Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female
Dogs Name(s) : Betsy
Dog(s) Ages : 5
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Support total : 14

Back to top Go down

Night time walks Empty Re: Night time walks

Post by Guest Thu Oct 25 2012, 20:52