1st Staff - Advice Very Welcome Please

+4
Chantel
Galadriel
janey
dodge
8 posters

Go down

1st Staff - Advice Very Welcome Please Empty 1st Staff - Advice Very Welcome Please

Post by dodge Wed Jul 04 2012, 23:47

Hello everyone

i just joined this forum today, nice to meet you all. I've had a nose around on the site, and i have found allot of very useful info here, and its been great fun.

I've been bought up with dogs all my life as i was growing up. We used to have a cross then we had a rotwieller up until i was about 16 (which was many moons ago now) although they were involved in my life, they was not my actual responsibility as i was only a child. I now have 4 children, aged 2, 3, 6 and 14, and as i was bought up with dogs, i thought it would be great if my children could enjoy a dog just as much as i did. Im no dog expert, but after a few months thought, i decided that although some family members didn't really think a staff was a good idea (due to them hearing only bad things in the past about staffs) i made my own choice. Some of my friends have owned staffs which i have met, and i really liked their loyalty, energy, intelligence and size. I saw lots of staff puppies for sale on the net, and went to look at many different ones before finally buying a 9 week old boy on Monday evening. Both parents were there and were very friendly and well behaved which i thought was good. I already bought some essentials which were at home e.g. crate, training pads, toys ect. The breeder was feeding pedigree pouches and pedigree puppy complete so i bought some on the way home. So far, the pup is settling in great i think lol. 1st night was a big rough as he didn't want to stay in the crate alone. I do understand its going to be a rough ride and he's missing his parents and siblings, but last night was much better than the 1st. I have been sleeping in the same room, pretty close to the crate, im not sure if this correct, but i thought it was the right thing to do. The kids