Opinions please.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Tue Apr 04 2017, 15:50

We have an opportunity to take on a rescue staffy. Poppy is a small three year old bitch and very good with dogs. Gus loves all dogs and we think a companion would be great. Someone has told us that this might not be the best idea as Gus is so young 5months old. What do you think, would we be better off waiting until Gus is older? Many thanks
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Mistys Mum on Tue Apr 04 2017, 16:17

I have never had two dogs but I would think it might be easier with a younger dog rather then two older ones? But again that's just my thought. I'm sure people who have two dogs will be along soon.


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Mistys Mum
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Moderator
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Moderator

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 38
Location : Surrey
England
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Misty
Dog(s) Ages : 16 months
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2015-04-02
Support total : 393
Posts : 2176

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Tue Apr 04 2017, 16:51

Sounds perfect to me Big Grin

I'm not sure what the issue is supposed to be with getting a 2nd dog when Gus is young? We had the other way round - Millie was 4 months old and supposedly fragile (she's deformed) when she arrived with another foster puppy - and we never had a problem. Well, other than the drastic increase in noise, dirt, cuddle demands, playing and did I mention noise?

If you do go ahead, just make sure you teach 'enough' (stop playing) so you can get a bit of peace just occasionally.

ETA - in fact, getting an older do while Gus is still a pup makes a lot of sense in that she'll teach him her boundaries now which should get them onto a clear footing before he's big and bursting with hormones.


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by -Ian- on Tue Apr 04 2017, 20:17

I agree, there's no reason not to and every reason to go ahead as long as two Staffies creating mayhem isn't going to drive you mad James Laughing

I think they would end up being the best of buddies.


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
-Ian-
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 50
Location : Surrey
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Anything, she's Deaf !
Dog(s) Ages : About 11 maybe
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2014-01-31
Support total : 2716
Posts : 21711

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jenc on Tue Apr 04 2017, 20:35

Sounds like a great idea James, I'm sure Gus will love & learn to respect her, it will do him good having someone to play with after he has worn you out Laughing Love Struck


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Jenc
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Age : 45
Location : Sedlescombe
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Katy
Dog(s) Ages : 9/10/12
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2013-01-30
Support total : 649
Posts : 4929

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by GRAHAM.C on Tue Apr 04 2017, 21:17

I say go for it.The only negative if you can call it that is you will have an extra mouth to feed,and an extra vet bill,but saying that when I had 2 dogs I used to take the 2 together for boosters health checks and worming and our vet would only charge one consultation fee and would give a good discount.You will also find your young pup will be far less demanding and reliant on you,plus the fact they will love each others company.In the past 30 years since I got the staffy bug,I always had 2 and sometimes 3 staffs and never had a problem.Having Tess as a lonesome dog is a first for me and at times she has been hard work because she has had to rely me for everything when at times she gets a little bored.You don't get that with 2 as they do things together,and there's no substitute for a bit of friendly competition.Go for it,I would if I was a bit younger and in better health.
avatar
GRAHAM.C
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 76
Location : CORNWALL
England
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : TESS
Dog(s) Ages : DOB JUNE 2016
Dog Gender(s) : BITCH
Join date : 2016-09-28
Support total : 66
Posts : 239

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by stella on Wed Apr 05 2017, 07:17

yeap agree with every one else,if you have the time and room for two manic loonies go for it  Laughing Laughing


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
stella
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 50
Location : isle of wight
England
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : sasha
Dog(s) Ages : 12 years
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-08-04
Support total : 1725
Posts : 14078

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Wed Apr 05 2017, 17:27

Thanks for putting our minds at ease. Unfortunately (for us) poppies foster family can't bear the thought of parting with her and have decided she will be staying with them. Although we are disappointed on this occasion we are happy that poppy will be happy now. Thanks again for all the replies Smile
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Wed Apr 05 2017, 18:14

Ah, the good old failed foster syndrome. I know that one all too well (Millie's a foster, not!).

There are so many lovely dogs out there looking for homes, especially staffies, maybe another might catch your eye...


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Wed Apr 05 2017, 18:20

We aren't in a rush, but if another suitable staffy pops up you never know.
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by -Ian- on Wed Apr 05 2017, 18:46

Watch out James, Liz will be posting all sorts of fab Staffies that need new homes if yer not careful Laughing


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
-Ian-
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 50
Location : Surrey
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Anything, she's Deaf !
Dog(s) Ages : About 11 maybe
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2014-01-31
Support total : 2716
Posts : 21711

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Wed Apr 05 2017, 18:50

Well you know I did just have a quick look to see if we had anything suitable... Big Grin


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by -Ian- on Wed Apr 05 2017, 19:03

Laughing


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
-Ian-
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 50
Location : Surrey
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Anything, she's Deaf !
Dog(s) Ages : About 11 maybe
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2014-01-31
Support total : 2716
Posts : 21711

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by I❤dogs on Wed Apr 05 2017, 23:17

You will know when you see the right dog
avatar
I❤dogs
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 38
Location : Aberdeenshire
Scotland
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Saxon and Rebel
Dog(s) Ages : 21/03/11 and 13/02/17
Dog Gender(s) : Boys
Join date : 2017-02-25
Support total : 72
Posts : 692

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jenc on Thu Apr 06 2017, 07:52

LizP wrote:Ah, the good old failed foster syndrome. I know that one all too well (Millie's a foster, not!).

There are so many lovely dogs out there looking for homes, especially staffies, maybe another might catch your eye...

My sister is 'fostering' Laughing a german shepherd but I hear she is just signing the paperwork for adoption Love Struck Laughing


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Jenc
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Age : 45
Location : Sedlescombe
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Katy
Dog(s) Ages : 9/10/12
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2013-01-30
Support total : 649
Posts : 4929

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Loki&Thanos on Tue Apr 18 2017, 18:43

Personally I have always had at least 2 dogs and it has worked out for me so far. I usually try to bring my dogs with me wherever I go but if for some reason I have to leave them alone, I don't want them to feel lonely.
avatar
Loki&Thanos
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Join date : 2017-04-09
Support total : 3
Posts : 12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Wed Apr 19 2017, 07:17

You don't happen to want a drop dead gorgeous 8 month old very energetic but highly trainable staffie x, do you? I'm working with a dog at Danaher at the moment who has absolutely stolen my heart but I don't think he'd be a good mix in our household and my husband would also probably divorce me if we went back up to 4!


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jenc on Wed Apr 19 2017, 20:44

Just had a look on Danaher site, what lovely looking dogs you have in Love Struck What's the name of the staffie x Liz?


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Jenc
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Age : 45
Location : Sedlescombe
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Katy
Dog(s) Ages : 9/10/12
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2013-01-30
Support total : 649
Posts : 4929

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Thu Apr 20 2017, 07:59

It's Ricky. He'll have some new photos soon, and a bit of video. I've been working with him this week and he is just a total star. Our compound's been out of action for a few weeks due to a giardia outbreak but it was open again yesterday. It was the first time he'd had a good run and chase and I was amazed how quiet and biddable he was, not nearly as full on as we thought.

If only... sigh...


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jenc on Thu Apr 20 2017, 20:40

He's a lovely looking boy Liz Love Struck I don't know why you only have 3 dogs when there is that many gorgeous dogs in the centre Surprised


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Jenc
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Age : 45
Location : Sedlescombe
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Katy
Dog(s) Ages : 9/10/12
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2013-01-30
Support total : 649
Posts : 4929

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by I❤dogs on Thu Apr 20 2017, 20:55

Wow, I just had a look. He is stunning, there is a lot of beautiful dogs
avatar
I❤dogs
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 38
Location : Aberdeenshire
Scotland
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Saxon and Rebel
Dog(s) Ages : 21/03/11 and 13/02/17
Dog Gender(s) : Boys
Join date : 2017-02-25
Support total : 72
Posts : 692

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Fri Apr 21 2017, 14:15

Hi Liz just seen this as we have been to a four day wedding. Ricky looks lovely, just a bit on the large size for us. How would it work with the distance between us?
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Fri Apr 21 2017, 15:38

We rehome across the country, using local home checkers who (and you'd need to check this) might be able to home check first. What I understand is that you could then do the 2 dog meets required on consecutive days and then it's all done. You'd have to check with the staff to be sure, I'm but a volunteer.

I'm sending over his new pics today so they should be on the website either this evening or tomorrow,and should also have a video put together soon too, I just need to edit it as there are several clips. You'll get a better idea of his size (yes, he's is a bit bigger) when you see him next to me.

He's just such a good boy and plays really nicely too. We walked with a mad little lurcher today and they had a ball!


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Fri Apr 21 2017, 17:50

Here's his video



Size wise, I weighed him a couple of days ago and he was 21.8kg, so he will be mid twenties when fully grown. If you want small, he's not that. If you want good, you can't get better.

(please excuse the human!)


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by I❤dogs on Fri Apr 21 2017, 19:31

He's so lovely. Liz you are amazing with him
avatar
I❤dogs
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 38
Location : Aberdeenshire
Scotland
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Saxon and Rebel
Dog(s) Ages : 21/03/11 and 13/02/17
Dog Gender(s) : Boys
Join date : 2017-02-25
Support total : 72
Posts : 692

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by -Ian- on Fri Apr 21 2017, 19:48

He really is a quick learner.... He will certainly make a great family pet Big Grin


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
-Ian-
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 50
Location : Surrey
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Anything, she's Deaf !
Dog(s) Ages : About 11 maybe
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2014-01-31
Support total : 2716
Posts : 21711

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Fri Apr 21 2017, 19:59

What a fantastic dog. Do you fancy having Gus for a few weeks to train him up as well haha.
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by LizP on Fri Apr 21 2017, 20:08

I'll swap you for our 3 - yes, that's all 3 as a package deal Big Grin


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1095
Posts : 5398

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Jnestie84 on Fri Apr 21 2017, 20:14

I will have a think about that haha
avatar
Jnestie84
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 33
Location : Cumbria
Wales
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Gus
Dog(s) Ages : 8 months
Join date : 2017-03-06
Support total : 53
Posts : 396

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions please.

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum