Opinions Please!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions Please!

Post by dizzy on Tue Oct 11 2016, 09:41

Dodger gave me the fright of my life when we were walking over the fields today. We usually amble on, him with his ball and me thinking my thoughts. But today he suddenly ran off and kept going. All I could do was to follow in the direction he went. After what seemed a very long time, but was about three minutes, he came running back to me. As you can imagine, he was on his lead for the rest of our stroll.
Now the reason for this I'm certain is because he'd scented a bitch in season, as he'd been sniffing and tracking more than usual and he's not a dog with much of a prey drive.
Now the big question is, do I have him nuetered? He's just turning three, and I've not considered it before as there's been no reason, but I'm not sure now.
What would you do?
avatar
dizzy
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Dodger
Dog(s) Ages : 3 years
Dog Gender(s) : male
Join date : 2015-08-03
Support total : 41
Posts : 130

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions Please!

Post by gillybrent on Tue Oct 11 2016, 09:49

i wouldn't neuter for tge simple reason that he has already discovered that he likes the scent of a bitch in season & will follow it even if he can't do anything about it!

i'd try strengthening his recall & maybe use a long line on him so that he still has his freedom but you still have control.

gillybrent
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 51
Join date : 2014-03-21
Support total : 128
Posts : 745

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions Please!

Post by dizzy on Tue Oct 11 2016, 11:08

Ah, so being nuetered would make no difference then. My vet has given me the lecture about how nuetering would stop virtually any unwanted behaviour, but I've never taken any notice of her because Dodger's a nice, friendly little dog, who loves everyone. I felt she was after the £150 fee!
avatar
dizzy
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Dodger
Dog(s) Ages : 3 years
Dog Gender(s) : male
Join date : 2015-08-03
Support total : 41
Posts : 130

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions Please!

Post by LizP on Tue Oct 11 2016, 11:18

I would neuter. I think it can help stop a dog from running off after the girls - we had a staffie x lab when I was a child who went from constantly vanishing to being a stay a home lad within a couple of months of neutering and there is plenty of other evidence for this view. Many behaviourists and vets will agree that it CAN (not necessarily will) help the problem.

There's also another aspect to it - if Dodger does find a bitch in season, at least if he is neutered he can't add to the unwanted puppy problem. For me, it is the responsible thing to do.


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
LizP
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Essex
Luxembourg
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Chaos, Nola and Millie
Dog(s) Ages : 4, 10, and 3
Dog Gender(s) : one boy, two girls
Join date : 2014-11-02
Support total : 1105
Posts : 5411

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions Please!

Post by dizzy on Tue Oct 11 2016, 12:29

Yes, you're right with your last comment Liz, I definitely wouldn't want my dog to be responsible for adding to the population of unwanted staffies.
avatar
dizzy
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Dodger
Dog(s) Ages : 3 years
Dog Gender(s) : male
Join date : 2015-08-03
Support total : 41
Posts : 130

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions Please!

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum