dizzy
Rachel33
Kendra
9 posters

Go down

Question re: Staffy traits Empty Question re: Staffy traits

Post by Kendra Thu Nov 12 2015, 12:13

Hi Smile

Having joined up recently with a Staffy Lab X, I've many years of experience with Labs but this is my first Staffy.

She has some very obvious Lab traits, as well as general "dogness" Tongues

I do however wonder if the following things are mostly her being Staffy:

Farts and burps like a person - our Lab tends toward silent but deadly;
Flumps on the floor by stretching her legs out behind her like a frog - Lab never lays like this, ever;
Whines and yawns and generally makes chimp noises until she gets the thing she wants (usually food/company/to be let out) - Lab can chimp and whine but does tend to have a little more patience and will be quiet when asked;
Is incredibly intelligent in that she can problem solve - very impressed with this but she also keeps us on our toes - Lab is a clever cookie but has never tried to open doors using the handle, doesn't understand about reflection in mirrors etc;
She absolutely LOVES chocolate (we don't feed her it of course but some 'incidents' have occurred) - our Lab isn't even remotely interested in chocolate;
She likes to be as close to people as possible, getting grumpy when I'm upstairs for a while and she's down, she then will lie on the top step below the stairgate - Lab also loves people but is equally happy curled up downstairs;
She likes to be warm, seeking out sunbeams and places she can cuddle into blankets etc - Lab not too fussed in this respect;
She absolutely loves hugs and will actually come and hug you if she's been told off, as if she's saying sorry! - Lab likes fuss and being close but not hugs

I'm sure there's more but that's about it for now. I know all dogs are individual regardless of breed but our Lab certainly has some breed traits which is why I'm wondering about Staffy specific traits Smile
Kendra
Kendra
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :