Any advice welcome

2 posters

Go down

Any advice welcome Empty Any advice welcome

Post by *Karen* Thu Nov 24 2011, 21:00

Despite the vets assurances that this isn't necessary, we'r waiting until after mia's first season to have her spayed... With this in mind if anyone can give me any info on what to expect when the time comes for her season it would be greatly appreciated, even just basics like how long it will last and if they need any special attention etc would be great as I havnt had a pup before so am a complete novice!!
*Karen*
*Karen*
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :

Female
Dogs Name(s) : Mia
Dog(s) Ages : 13 July 2011
Dog Gender(s) : Lady
Support total : 45

Back to top Go down

Any advice welcome Empty Re: Any advice welcome

Post by Guest Thu Nov 24 2011, 21:05

Skye just finished her first season bless her, and to be honest it was not as bad as i thought it would be and it flew by.
Season usually lasts 3weeks and happens every 6months.
you will notice her vulva swelling, she will start small amount of dotting, she may become pretty ratty and sulky and some would just rather lye in bed rather than play etc.
I found it alot safer to walk skye early morning and after dark when she was in season, to prevent the risk of coming across a male etc, no off lead walking to be on the safe side etc.
its not half as bad as alot of people make out, you can purchase hygiene pants also Smile.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Thu Nov 24 2011, 21:20

When I had bitches I wasn't too worried about the first 10 days. However, the 2nd 10 days of the season I never let them off lead & like Kelly I'd walk them early morning/late evening. If I saw a dog in the distance I'd walk the other way!

Some are messier than others, but most bitches will try to keep themselves clean. If there's a particularly heavy loss then you can buy hygiene pads from the local pet store - make sure you get the right size, though, as otherwise they can rub.