hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

View previous topic View next topic Go down

hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Margaret on Tue Jun 02 2015, 09:34

Hi, my daughter and i own a staffy cross, we adore staffys and are tempted to have a second staffy because we love them so much and also we thought it would be nice for our dog to have a dog companion. We were wondering if two staffys together are likely to bark more. My daughter suffers from M.E and noise can be problematic for her if it is excessive. Our staffy is about one year old and we have just adopted him recently from a rescue centre after we sadly lost our first staffy to liver disease in Feb she was only 7. Its a hard decision because our dog is so good and we don't want to spoil things but on the other hand we think having two staffys could be so rewarding but its just the possible noise situation that concerns me if they are more inclined to bark

Margaret
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Join date : 2015-05-03
Support total : 0
Posts : 2

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Sealpig on Tue Jun 02 2015, 11:47

Hi there and welcome to the forum! I'm afraid i just have the one staffy so i wouldn't know what having 2 would be like, I'm sure someone will know and answer soon for you.

What's your staffy's name? Are they good with other dogs?
avatar
Sealpig
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Engaged
Dogs Name(s) : Rio
Dog(s) Ages : 4yrs
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Join date : 2015-02-13
Support total : 83
Posts : 316

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by ColinW on Tue Jun 02 2015, 12:31

Hi &

Welcome to the staffordshire bull terrier niceboard. We are pleased you have decided to join us, and hope you enjoy your stay. We hope to see plenty of pictures of your staffordshire bull terriers or any other breed you may have in your household

If you would like to enter your dog(s), puppy(s) or another pet(s) you may have into our Monthly Competition, voting starts on the 20th of every month, if you are lucky your dog maybe placed on our Hall Of Fame page on our website.

Just one last thing before you look around could you please just have a quick look At This Poll, we would love to know how you found us.

Here are some links that will get you started with the website:-

Please read the Forum Rules before you start posting.
Here are a List of Tutorial & FAQs that will help you around the forum.
You can ask for Help here if you are having trouble doing something on the forum.
How to update your Profile information
If you have any ideas to improve the forum please let us know Your Feedback Here.
We have a Website with alot of information if you would like to view it.
Make a Donation to help us to keep improving our forum and website.
avatar
ColinW
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 48
Location : Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Iza
Dog(s) Ages : 1.8 years
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2014-03-17
Support total : 633
Posts : 6374

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by ColinW on Tue Jun 02 2015, 12:32

Welcome from Iza and me Smile Only have the 1 sorry but Staffies aren't really known for being yappy.
avatar
ColinW
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 48
Location : Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
United Kingdom.
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Iza
Dog(s) Ages : 1.8 years
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2014-03-17
Support total : 633
Posts : 6374

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by -Ian- on Tue Jun 02 2015, 14:04

Hi and welcome to the Forum from Flo n me Big Grin

I have only ever had one at a time but would agree with the post above, Staffies aren't very yappy dogs so I doubt it would make a lot of difference other than when they are playing hard.


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
-Ian-
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 50
Location : Surrey
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Anything, she's Deaf !
Dog(s) Ages : About 11 maybe
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2014-01-31
Support total : 2667
Posts : 21403

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Mia05 on Tue Jun 02 2015, 17:33

Welcome from me and mia staffys arent yappy more squeaky Laughing sadly not got 2 dogs either


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Mia05
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 35
Location : Scotland
Scotland
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Mia
Dog(s) Ages : 2005-2016 rip mia
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2014-07-20
Support total : 1294
Posts : 24233

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by stella on Tue Jun 02 2015, 19:30

hia from me and sasha Smile


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
stella
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 50
Location : isle of wight
England
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : sasha
Dog(s) Ages : 12 years
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-08-04
Support total : 1725
Posts : 14078

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Inez Maria on Tue Jun 02 2015, 20:14

Hiya from me and Vinnie,again I only have 1 so not much help. Big Grin


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Inez Maria
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 46
Location : Gloucestershire
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Vinnie
Dog(s) Ages : 11/08/2011
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Join date : 2013-06-08
Support total : 2577
Posts : 37300

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by JStaff on Tue Jun 02 2015, 23:23

Hi and welcome from us and Suki


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
JStaff
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 40
Japan
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Suki
Dog(s) Ages : 5
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2013-09-15
Support total : 859
Posts : 21914

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by kaztaz on Wed Jun 03 2015, 20:57

Welcome from he and licks from troy Smile I only have one too but have had 3 at the same time when i was a kids didnt have any problems only when playing as there very verbal  Laughing
avatar
kaztaz
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 35
Location : telford
Australia
Dogs Name(s) : troy
Dog(s) Ages : 12 months
Dog Gender(s) : male
Join date : 2012-02-27
Support total : 38
Posts : 604

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by peppa on Wed Jun 03 2015, 21:18

Can't see why not if you have a dog friendly staffy as long as you Choose one from the opposite sex and introduce them carefully.
avatar
peppa
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Location : london
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : peppa
Dog(s) Ages : 28/10/13
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2014-03-06
Support total : 74
Posts : 723

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Margaret on Fri Jun 05 2015, 12:54

Thanks for your replies. My staffy is called Ollie. I think we will probably get another staffy because he loves other dogs, we have outdoor cats and he loves playing with them but i think it would be lovely for him to have a dog to play with. We are thinking about getting an older rescue one as we see they are harder to rehome and i hate to think of them being in kennels for a long time.

Margaret
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Join date : 2015-05-03
Support total : 0
Posts : 2

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by VikkiGT4 on Tue Jun 16 2015, 11:14

Hi and welcome to the forum from me and the zoo Smile xx
avatar
VikkiGT4
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Support Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 37
Location : West Midlands
England
Relationship Status : Engaged
Dogs Name(s) : Knox (RIP baby boy <3)
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Join date : 2013-02-15
Support total : 234
Posts : 2520

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Rachel33 on Tue Jun 16 2015, 14:29

Hello! I think it depends on the dog really - my Bug is very quiet, I rarely hear her bark through she will "happy growl" when we come home. My last foster was very vocal, but Bug didn't ever pick up on this habit and remained her quiet self. A rescue would be a great idea - you could find a dog perfect for your home then Smile good luck with the search!


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Rachel33
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Devon
England
Relationship Status : In a relationship
Dogs Name(s) : Bug (Biscuit)
Dog(s) Ages : 7 ish
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2012-06-17
Support total : 1012
Posts : 5545

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Sara n Ozzy on Tue Jun 16 2015, 21:58

Hi and welcome from Oz and me


Staffy-Bull-Terrier Online Community
Meet the forum staff - Who's Who
Please read the forum rules - Click Here.

avatar
Sara n Ozzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Global Mod

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : Gatley Cheshire
United Kingdom.
Dogs Name(s) : Ozzy
Dog(s) Ages : 6
Dog Gender(s) : Boy
Join date : 2012-11-29
Support total : 956
Posts : 5622

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: hi i'm new here. some opinions wanted please

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum