Underweight Staffordshire Pup

3 posters

Go down

Underweight Staffordshire Pup Empty Underweight Staffordshire Pup

Post by Fhoou Sun Mar 06 2011, 01:07

Hi Everyone,

As you may be aware i am new to this wonderful site, dedicated to Mans best friend, hopeing to get some helpful and much needed advice as recently we found a puppy which we think may be a staffordshire pup around 3 months of age that was wandering the streets and to our horror no one has claimed, we took him to the vet to see if he had a microchip but no such luck we have door knocked our whole area now for 2 weeks still no one has claimed him.. so we have decided to keep him and give him a loving home, we took him to the vet as he looks underweight and was larthargic and skinny, popped him on the scales and he was just on 5kg we payed for worming tablets and advantage as he also had fleas quite badly, introduced him to our Jessie who also is a staffordshire bullterrier, she is 11 years old and we purchased her from a registed breeder from the canine control centre (papered), anyway Jessie just adores him Mothers him as she has never had a litter she now has so much more energy, anyway We have been feeding him Pal Puppy biscuits, puupy meat n puppy milk not sure of what other supermarket brands that r good as we dont have alot of money so that is my question if anyone can help cheap puppy food but not nasty , (we dont feed Jessie dog food as it upsets her tummy, we feed Jessie what we eat steak n veg an rice n chick) i asked the vet if we can just feed him what we give Jessie but she suggested not too.. we feed him 4 times a day to try to increase his weight gain, i set the alarm to get up in the middle of the night to feed him, i must admit though after we wormed him i noticed his stool was just a stool of worm eggs n dead worms it was really bad, we meausred him too he is 10.24 inches so not sure if that is right height either ... we dont know at this stage if he is cross, or what his parents are