Constant Biting! Help!

+4
joelle
debbiewaterhouse
niff
claire
8 posters

Go down

Constant Biting!  Help! Empty Constant Biting! Help!

Post by claire Fri Jan 28 2011, 16:17

Hi there

We have now had winnie for almost a week. She's 9 weeks today. I'm hoping some of you may have some really good tips on stopping her from constantly nipping and biting at us. Trust me, before Winnie came along I had researched, read, watched programmes etc etc for years. I was a real pro "theoretically". But in reality, its a lot harder. I have tried doing what a lot of you have suggested in the past, and that is saying "no" in a low firm voice and pointing my finger at her. The thing is, once she's locked onto my slippers or trouser leg, I just can't get her off. She's only 9 weeks but already I can bearly open her jaws to prise her mouth off. I have then, put her in isolation for about half a minute and then let her out and ignored her. Problem is, she just charges straight back at my feet or legs again! Am I doing things right? Is it just a case of repeating this procedure over and over and over and over? I hate having to prise her mouth open because I know she sees it as a competition but what else do I do if she just won't let go of my jumper sleeve or trouser legs? Any suggestions would be grateful appreciated.

claire
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Constant Biting!  Help! Empty Re: Constant Biting! Help!

Post by Guest Fri Jan 28 2011, 16:39