Puppy pads in crates

3 posters

Go down

Puppy pads in crates Empty Puppy pads in crates

Post by Laws Fri Dec 13 2013, 13:32

So little radar is doing well with no accidents in the house today or yesterday , we crate her when we go out and when I'm at work which was for four hours on her own . The breeder advised to put a puppy pad at one end and a bed at the other , she has peed in the night on the pad a few times and I came home from work to a pee on the pad . Now having read up on this it seems having a puppy pad in the crate isn't the right thing to do ? I'm confused Sad
Laws
Laws
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female
Relationship Status : Engaged
Dogs Name(s) : Ziggy
Dog(s) Ages : 3
Dog Gender(s) : male
Support total : 22

Back to top Go down

Puppy pads in crates Empty Re: Puppy pads in crates

Post by Boycies_mum Fri Dec 13 2013, 17:23

Im not sure on how right I am as im new to this with a 8 week old puppy but so far all crating advice says not to put a pad in as ot encourages pup to use his bed as a toilet ? We put one just in front of the crate incase of accidents when the door is open x

Boycies_mum
Super Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Dogs Name(s) : Boycie
Dog(s) Ages : 9 weeks
Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Fri Dec 13 2013, 21:03

I don't use the pads anyway. Dempsey would tear it up and swallow the bits!

I'd be more inclined to use newspaper if you have to put anything down. The pads have absorbant crystals in them which could be disastrous if they were ingested.

How old is she?

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sat Dec 14 2013, 04:03

We used a bit off news paper if a night too, as caryll says the pads have abosorbancy which wouldn't be good if ingested. Smile

(13 weeks mrs c)

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sat Dec 14 2013, 09:25

_Hayley_ wrote:
(13 weeks mrs c)

Thanks Hayley!