Arthritis in a Young Female - Information?

3 posters

Go down

Arthritis in a Young Female - Information? Empty Arthritis in a Young Female - Information?

Post by Guest Tue Jan 08 2013, 10:22

Hi,

Just wandered has any of you had any experience with arthritis in your dogs. I have had blind dogs, diabetic dogs, dogs that refused to eat but I have no experience with arthritis and how it should be dealt with.

My girlfriend has a 3-4 year old female Stafford. She was a rescue dog and was severely emaciated and mistreated when she got her. I have known the dog for 5 or so months now, but my girlfriend has had her for a year and a half or so. When I first met the dog she was still very underweight and her coat was dull and coarse. We changed her diet dramatically to include a good quality dry food, various meats, and good quality vegetables. I know a lot of you have said the veg isn't necessary but I truly feel it's important and it makes her eat. She is now looking absolutely fantastic and I'm very proud of how my girlfriend has improved her health and appearence.

Unfortunately however, we have found out in the past week she has arthritis in her back legs (knee joint). Possibly due to a mix of genes and bad treatment as a pup. I went to see the dog myself over the weekend and she seemed in great form, happy and her coat was shining! She was able to jump up on the sofa and was still the same happy, yet placid self.

The vet has said she is really bad and would require an operation to repair the cartilidge that is gradually wearing away. She doesn't appear to be in any pain, discomfort or to be restrcited in any way...yet.

My question is, have any of you had experiences with this at all. Did you monitor and manage it or did you go for the op?

Thanks.

Back to top Go down

Arthritis in a Young Female - Information? Empty Re: Arthritis in a Young Female - Information?

Post by janey Tue Jan 08 2013, 10:26