Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department....

+2
ColinW
lumpydog
6 posters

Go down

Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department.... Empty Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department....

Post by lumpydog Wed Jul 02 2014, 16:50

......Had two of these calls today. Basically an old scam revamped. I used to get calls claiming to be from Microsoft telling me my PC has emailed them saying it has a virus. Now it's 'Hello, my name is Jon (heavy Indian accent), I am calling from Windows technical department to tell you you have been downloading viruses with every time you are going on the internet and also in your email.......'

Me: 'Before you go on and try and sell me some fake software to get rid of said viruses, let me explain that I am a Microsoft Certified Professional (true), I used to run a network with over 100 end users and 5 servers so I know what I'm talking about (also true), but do you? Tell me which part of Windows technical department you work in and where are you based.....'

Click. Brrrrrrrrrrrrr.

It's apparently been on Watchdog, trying to con money out of people for fake software or software they never get. Just be aware.
lumpydog
lumpydog
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :

Male
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Meg
Dog(s) Ages : Sept 20th 2011
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Support total : 79

Back to top Go down

Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department.... Empty Re: Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department....

Post by Guest Wed Jul 02 2014, 17:05

Thanks for that you have to be so careful  Smile 

Back to top Go down

Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department.... Empty Re: Hello, I am calling from Windows technical department....

Post by ColinW Wed Jul 02 2014, 17:05