Nipping at 1 year old!!

5 posters

Go down

Nipping at 1 year old!! Empty Nipping at 1 year old!!

Post by amanda.bradley Wed Apr 16 2014, 22:50

Hi everyone,

Joey is now 13 month old. He knows all basic commands such as sit, stay, leave etc but he still, hasnt mastered nipping or toilet training. We have been training him since we got him at 5 weeks old. We got him at 5 weeks due to irresponsible breeding. We did get to the point where he had started to just mouth without hurting and were training him out of it altogether but lately he seems to have gone back. He started playing with my 7 year old today and at first he was fine just giving kisses, then all of a sudden he nipped her ear but held on and pulled. He stopped as soon as we said "enough" but she was quite upset as it hurt. There were no puncture marks but there was little dents in her ear from his teeth. When the kids had gone to bed I started playing with him and he kept nipping my arm. It never used to hurt but now it does. When i said enough he stopped i ended up with bruising for a few days after.
We tried going back to the yelping we had done when he was a puppy, just ignoring him, time out etc but nothing has worked this time. He does not seem to do it to people he meets on walks though. I always warn people when they ask to stroke him but when they do he's lovely, he still jumps up at them but not at their faces anymore and there has been no nipping.
Just don't know what to do its not aggression its when he is excited. He is ok for a short while but then can;t seem to help himself.