Am I ready for a staffy pup?

+2
Rachel33
Nojoke
6 posters

Go down

Am I ready for a staffy pup? Empty Am I ready for a staffy pup?

Post by Nojoke Sun Apr 13 2014, 11:50

Hello everyone, I just wanna hear your thoughts and if you think i should change something, please let me know:)

I have had dogs my whole life and 3 puppies have been raised while I was over 10 yrs. The last one i raised myself ( went really well I think).

I have a dog friendly apartment w. hard floors in my gigantic room, kitchen and bathroom, the rest is carpet. There is a small, safe back yard with high walls (30 square meters area) exit from the kitchen Smile 
I am studying, and have approx. 15 hrs of school each week and work some evenings, but I can choose when I want to work, and I can study from home when the puppy can't be much alone yet. (school is 10 minute walk away)

Since I am traveling to Norway in my vacations and I have a very good relationship with my ex that lives nearby so he will watch it when I am gone, and he will also come over and walk with it or play with it regularly since he is a softie for dogs and would like to have one himself:P And he will follow my rules for training and raising it. I will also bring it with me for Christmas and my 3 month summer vacation next year.

I love training dogs!: I have found dog schools and puppy socialization classes. I want to train the dog with "progressive reinforcement", i.e, Rewarding wanted behavior and avoiding unwanted as much as possible. No physical, psychological correction or intimidation. So clicker training and doing everything step by step :)I live by the beach, so plenty of space to play there, and in the weekends we can find some forest.

My goal is to have a happy dog that can be around family, friends, most dogs, and that is relaxed and happy in most places, and a best friend that can cuddle up in bed with me.