A little advice needed

4 posters

Go down

A little advice needed  Empty A little advice needed

Post by Little Mike Sun Mar 23 2014, 22:16

Hi everyone, post number two for me Big Grin

I'll confess I'm new to training as I've only ever had re-homed/rescue adult dogs before. I currently have two staffys, one who is 17 months old and one who is 4 months old. Tilly, our youngest is a rescue she gets on great with Zeus they play all day but she isn't trained at all. We've had her 3 days now and I couldn't be happier with her but I need some help and advice training her.

I've started to toilet train her and give her basic commands. I would never smack a dog an try not to raise my voice when she's chewing or gets to giddy with Zeus. When she starts playing up I tell her "no" and point at her. If by the second time she hasn't stopped what she is doing I put her in her crate for a few minutes with the door shut as a cool off. Is this the right way to correct behavior? When she listens I go over the top praising her and give her a soft dog treat.

She's learned to come when I call her and sit when I tell her to, she occasionally growls if I stroke her whilst eating or playing with a toy but when she does I take the food/toy away and tell her "no" then give it her back 30 seconds later and try again. She is getting better with this.