Genetic - Breeders?

3 posters

Go down

Genetic -  Breeders? Empty Genetic - Breeders?

Post by kitmoe Sun Feb 24 2013, 21:46

Hello All,

I have been in love with the Staffordshire breed for years. I got my little angel 3 1/2 years ago, she has been my best friend since. I recently breed her to another registered pure breed Staffordshire, when the pups were born there was a high percentage (3 out of 8 ) of puppies with cleft palates. Since this is a genetic defect. I have read about this and am seeking some advise from experienced breeders. I do not own the sire and the owner of the sire wants to keep one of the dogs and breed him. He keeps telling me it is breed standard to have this and that it is common.

Is it common and something I shouldn't be worried about breeding into the lines of the staffys? Any help would be great. I am new to breeding and would like to get all my male dogs fixed if this is an issue. I did research my dam's line and there is no sign of this deform though it is in the sires line. Though I am not planning on breeding her again.

I do have other questions, if anyone would like to mentor me that would be awesome.

Thanks!

kitmoe
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Genetic -  Breeders? Empty Re: Genetic - Breeders?

Post by Guest Sun Feb 24 2013, 21:50

It is more common in Staffords than in some other breeds, but it certainly isn't a part of the breed standard. It is generally accepted that cleft palates may be hereditary, and so dogs with cleft palates or dogs who have produced cleft palates should not be bred from.

If you have other questions, do feel free to post them all on here. Smile We'll be happy to help.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sun Feb 24 2013, 21:57

Hi & welcome to the forum. It'd be great if you'd post an introduction here....
https://staffy-bull-terrier.niceboard.com/f7-new-member-introductions