+5
silver
Mani
Kathy
Cyril baby
stacka83
9 posters

Go down

staffy running up to other dogs.... Empty staffy running up to other dogs....

Post by stacka83 Mon Sep 17 2012, 14:14

Hi All,

Right I really don't know what to do....so a pal suggested here.

My Boy 'Mac' is approx 12 months now, and when im home (im a soldier away alot) we spend pretty much every living hour together. I live in the vast Wiltshire countryside and try and walk him as much as I can, (sometimes twice a day a hour and half each) and we run together every other day.

The problem....

......just recently iv had problems with him, when he see's another dog he runs up to them at full whack to what i deem as a playful manner. The other dog has reacted in fear and snapped at him, sadly 'Mac' retaliates by going back ten fold! this has happened twice now, normally other dogs are happy to see him and I can barely pull him away for want to playing.

The other day we went for a walk and on the way home he came across a small terrier type thing he ran up to do the normal routine of sniffing and playing, usually the other dog chasing him around followed by 'Mac' licking their ears. This dog however straight away bit Mac on the eye, and he then in turn bit and pinned the other dog to the floor.....I waded straight in and stopped the toil and realised Mac had bit and cut the other dogs neck. Needless to say he got a telling off.

Sadly the woman was hysterical shouting that she is going to have him put down etc etc....i tried to explain it was mark of defence, (but although true its not acceptable behaviour) all she could say its a Pit Bull etc etc etc

She in turn called the Police, who are investigating it.

So.....what on earth do I do to stop him running up to other dogs, I want him to enjoy walks with out a lead. He's normally the most soft and affectionate dog you'll ever come across, we have two other dogs not Staffies and he is so soft and calm with them.

What can i do?

stacka83