Debo and the kids

2 posters

Go down

Crying Debo and the kids

Post by jola139 Thu May 31 2012, 14:01

Ok,so after his first few walks he calmed down a bit. He still bites Sad,I can handle him, it's just really annoying and just want it to stop. But the problem is with the kids. I work as a nanny and the lovely family let to bring Debo along so he doesn't stay at home by himself. They've got 4 kids ( 8,11,13,14) and a dog labradoodle (5 yr). Debo spent few days in there house because I had to go to POland for a funeral and we didn't want to leave him in the kennel . At that time he tried to play with the dog's tail and bit it,from now on the dog just hates him. Him getting closer it's enough for her to growl and bark,she also pin DEbo on to the ground twice. What can I do ,just leave them to sort things out. He's great with other dogs,very friendly.
And now to the kids.
They don't understand that it's not Labradoodle which will just lay down and let them pat him. When they see him they' re getting very exited ,jump around. It makes Debo exited and he starts to nibble. Same with they playing with him ,they running away,which makes him think it's great game to catch who ever is running away= bite. Rolling on the ground,basically they play with him using their bodies. What can I do to teach him that biteing is not allowed and teach them that this is different type of dog to what they have at home? Sad
jola139
jola139
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :

Female
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Debo
Dog(s) Ages : 7,5 yeras
Dog Gender(s) : Male
Support total : 106

Back to top Go down

Crying Re: Debo and the kids

Post by janey Thu May 31 2012, 18:31

TBH Debo isn't doing anything wrong with the kids, its not so much training him, but training the kids on how to act around him, he is a pup and will act like a pup. The nipping will stop in time if you and everyone including the kids act correctly around him.