New Staffy owner Questions

4 posters

Go down

New Staffy owner Questions Empty New Staffy owner Questions

Post by laddie_b Sat Oct 05 2013, 08:18

Hi all newbie here,
We recently got a American staffy x American Bulldog puppy (well she is 5 months old now) she was my 6 year old daughters B'day present. She is not our first dog just first staffy.

First for the bragging Smile my daughter has taught her to sit, lay down and hi5 which has blown my mind that a 6 year old can do that. They are the best of friends. sleep together all night and so on,
UNTIL
Now the worrying question, when she plays, The puppy, she seems to go psychoish and at set times at night for about half an hour. She will just nip and nip and her ears go back. we try making her sit til she calms but she is honestly just skittish for half a hour.
My question is when the ears go back is that still play mode or is there more to it? She isn't growling when she does it or show anything else to think she is being aggressive at that time just the whole ears going back worries me and constant nipping!
laddie_b
laddie_b
New Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female
Dogs Name(s) : Laddie
Dog(s) Ages : 5 months
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

New Staffy owner Questions Empty Re: New Staffy owner Questions

Post by Shontelle Sat Oct 05 2013, 08:35

She's just a playful puppy. Do you have a crate? If you do, I suggest first turning away from her when she gets mad and nippy as they hate to to be ignored. If she continues, put her in the crate for a few minutes. Repeat this until she gets the message. Always give her the chance to back off by ignoring her (or try teaching a command such as 'away' 'calm' or something like that) before putting her in her crate. They are so smart as you've discovered and she'll soon learn what is acceptable and what isn't.
Shontelle
Shontelle
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female