Got our new puppy! But have a question.

+3
janey
Nosipho
claire
7 posters

Go down

Got our new puppy!  But have a question. Empty Got our new puppy! But have a question.

Post by claire Tue Jan 25 2011, 16:30

Can't believe it, we've actually got our puppy! We didn't get the rescue puppy in the end because we just wasn't sure how big or what she would look like grown up. In the end, however, I was put in touch with a great breeder through the SBT Association who lived local to us. Ended up getting a red bitch called "Winnie". She's 8 weeks old and a real cutie. Unfortunately, I'm not very good with uploading pictures etc so you may have to wait for piccies. My question though is this:- my husband wants to build a gate/barrier to keep her safe and confined in the utility room whilst we are out etc, and wants to build it once and for all for when she is fully grown. Could anyone recommend how high this should be. I have no idea how high Staffs can jump.

claire
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Support total : 0

Back to top Go down

Got our new puppy!  But have a question. Empty Re: Got our new puppy! But have a question.

Post by Nosipho Tue Jan 25 2011, 16:43

They can jump pretty high (some can even clear a 5/6 foot fence), however this shouldn't be a problem if she is never shown that she CAN jump it! Most people who separate their house up on this forum tend to use stairgates for children (think you can quite a cheap one from argos). As long as you don't encourage her to stand up on the gate (tapping it etc) or climb over it yourself she shouldn't think to jump over (however there are always the exception dogs who will jump anything.

the younger you start and the smaller she is the more she will see the gate as an unquestionable barrier, make sure shes got loads of toys and her bed in there and leave the gate open when you are in an she should see the utlity room as 'her den'!