Need an up to date view on Shampoo please

+2
Jenc
petab
6 posters

Go down

Need an up to date view on Shampoo please Empty Need an up to date view on Shampoo please

Post by petab Sun Jun 09 2019, 16:36

Hi, haven't posted for a while but often check on here for info and normally find the answers I need. So now I need some help please. What shampoo is everyone using for their staffy? My boy is blue and is itching/scratching quite a bit. I've been using the same shampoo for 7 years but suddenly it makes him itch like mad. His skin is clear, he hasn't got fleas or mites. He just seem to scratch himself quite a lot. I'm wondering if its time to try a new shampoo. Suggestions please.
petab
petab
Super Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Super Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Ralph/Ralphy/Ralphster
Dog(s) Ages : 5 years
Dog Gender(s) : Male(ish)
Support total : 12

Back to top Go down

Need an up to date view on Shampoo please Empty Re: Need an up to date view on Shampoo please

Post by Guest Sun Jun 09 2019, 17:37

I would stop shampooing him. Dogs don't need bathing unless there is a specific reason (e.g. they've rolled in something stinky). I would suggest not bathing and see if there is any change. If after a couple of months there isn't, I'd pop back to the vet and check that there is no underlying condition such as colour dilution alopecia, which is sometimes found in blue staffies due to their breeding.

Back to top Go down

Need an up to date view on Shampoo please Empty Re: Need an up to date view on Shampoo please

Post by Jenc Sun Jun 09 2019, 20:01

I agree with Liz, I only ever shampoo Katy if she's had a serious roll in fox poo sick Other than that she just gets hosed off if she's mucky Smile Katy will scratch more this time of year due to the long grass she charges through, I give her human antihistamines if she shows a problem with itching.
Jenc
Jenc
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Admin

Status Status :