New here! Looking for a staffy advice please

5 posters

Go down

New here! Looking for a staffy advice please  Empty New here! Looking for a staffy advice please

Post by Kcalbat Tue Jul 24 2018, 18:49

Hi,

My name is Kelli and I’m new here.

I’m in need of advice because I think I may be in over my head.

I’m a dog groomer of 12 years and I’ve always had a love for dogs. My childhood dream was to show and breed but I never got into it for various reasons.

I currently have a 13 year old pit bull and a 12 year old Maltese. I recently I lost my heart dog. My boy Bullet, who had just turned 13 as well.

I am currently in the process of trying to get a Staffordshire Bull Terrier. I am looking for a female and am interested in showing her.

I’ve always had a fondness for bully breeds and have researched them throughout. I’m currently studying the breed standard for the Staffy to help in my search.

For the last month or two I have been looking into breeders.

I have two breeders I am looking at. I will have to ship from Ukraine from one and Russia from another so not much difference.

The first breeder has a litter on the ground and I will be able to have one of her girls in October. She actively shows, but the dam is not championed and honestly I feel like her head is not typey for the breed. However, her parents and grandparent are nearly all championed. The sire is championed and appears to be what I’m looking for in the breed. Both dogs are health tested.

The other breeder will have a litter in January so I will be able to have a puppy in April or May. She seem way more active in the show world and all of her dogs are championed. The dogs to be bred are exactly what I would want. Dogs are also health tested. And while color is irrelevant really, I love love love her red pied dogs.