Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Go down

Smile Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Sun Apr 08 2012, 09:17

Hi guys,

Still on the look out for a non pull training device that works well for me and Troy. Why not post some reviews of what hasn't worked so well and what has worked for you and your dog to help us and others in one thread?

I'll start.

Gentle Leader

Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRkZIPob1PkBvX94dHumIi-900laKFr9SgCD-6uaGqSHXkkaFTbZA

Positives:

+ It works, he would stop pulling immediately once at the end of the leash and would walk nicely on the walk.
+ Cheap

Negatives:

- Seems a bit flimsy, not sure if it would definitely would stay on if Troy REALLY wanted to get at something.
- He still did pull a bit and just walked with his head sideways when after the noise of a dog or seeing a cat etc
- Looks like I am leading a horse when his head pulls to the side.

Comments:

Though we only used it a couple of times, it really does work but I was not satisfied with it's overall feel. The strap sizes are thin and I wasn't completely confident it would stay in place if he tried to bolt.


Ezy Dog half choke collar

Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSCuK9EeK7T87qAJlWMD9jY5wWta1zz9m8eF1K6f2-tcGntop82

Positives

+ Nice fit
+ Easy to fit and remove, very quick
+ Nice look and design
+ Tightens if the dog pulls which gives you greater control of the head
+ Strong

Negatives

- Doesn't work. Troy will pull to the end of it and towards dogs / cats as if wearing a normal collar.

Comments:

Though it does not work as such, I like it because it is very easy to put on and remove. Also it tightens giving more control of the dog.

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by 8pawprints on Sun Apr 08 2012, 10:34

Tried Halti on a rescue we had, but kept slipping her nose out of it. Got a refund. Good fitting harness and treats worked better. Don' t like choke collars at all. Trying to mitigate the stimulus for pulling is the difficult thing to identify and change. Good luck.
8pawprints
8pawprints
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 55
Location : Newport
Dogs Name(s) : Misty
Dog(s) Ages : 5-6 yrs
Dog Gender(s) : Female
Join date : 2012-02-11
Support total : 30
Posts : 200

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Sun Apr 08 2012, 14:42

Try a dogmatic it's worked wonders on Chance who is a big lad and immensely strong and he walks to heel lovely when it's on

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Sun Apr 08 2012, 14:49

Just had a quick look, looks very similar to a Halti / Gentle leader.

Looks very 'busy' though?

Feel free to write a small review Wink

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Sun Apr 08 2012, 17:50

It's a lot stronger then haltis etc don't know what you mean by busy though it just goes over the nose and clips behind the ears. it also doesn't rideup in the the eyes and generally ALOT better then the other head collare



Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use 431189_10151246494480611_586525610_23123614_1832014572_n

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Tue Apr 10 2012, 10:57

The pictures on the website made it look like there was a lot going on..lots of straps. Thats what I mean by busy.

Another review.

The Rain

Positives:

+ Troy walks lovely in the rain, right by my heal and sometimes even behind.
+ Rains more often than not in the UK so more nice walking.

Negatives:

- You get wet and muddy

Big Grin Laughing

Troy hates the rain. Had to drag him out of the porch at 5:30am this morning. Once he saw the rain he was having none of it! Too bad, gotta go!

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by linzy on Tue Apr 10 2012, 11:21

Half Check Collar
No effect at all.

Halti head collar
Amazingly effective.
Violet hated wearing it. Spent most of her walks ploughing her nose against the ground trying to get it off.
Didn't feel like I had a lot of control over her.
Had to use 2 leads because I wasn't confident she wouldn't get out of it.
Looked like it might be squashing her eyes?

Halti body harness
Effective, but not as effective as the head collar.
She can still pull a bit.
Easier to correct her with this than the head collar. I feel this may have a more lasting effect on her walking.
Doesn't mind wearing it.
Rubs her shoulders slightly.

Bribery
Walks nicely to get sweets for a bit, then gets so excited about treats that she just kangaroo hops instead of walking.
linzy
linzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 32
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Violet
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-06-21
Support total : 25
Posts : 605

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Tue Apr 10 2012, 12:28

I felt the same way about the gentle leader as you do about the Halti. Didnt feel safe and secure.

Troy gets impatient at roads sometimes and tries to walk before me and I wasn't confident about the gentle leader.

LOL, bribery works good but Troy gets excited over food and praise so just grabs the food then runs to the end of the leash Laughing

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Tue Apr 10 2012, 13:57

aw Violet bribery Laughing

this is what we got have used it a couple of times and it works


http://www.blackdog.net.au/index.php?page=shop.browse&category_id=2&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=5&vmcchk=1&Itemid=5

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by kate32 on Tue Apr 10 2012, 15:22

i am also struggling to find something that works for me and the dogs. i'm not keen on the headcollars and neither are the dogs although they do work very well but when iv used them in the past my dog always looked depressed wearing one Sad ...and people associate them with a muzzel which annoys me

normal harness - i find the dogs just pull into these although you do feel like you've got control of the whole dog, you just need strong arms!

half check collar - works well if there are no distractions...but theres always distractions

Lupi - easy to fit this harness tightens if they pull, then slackens as they walk nicely...worked well at first but maisy soon got used to it and will still pull like mad to get to something she wants...as the harness is all rope it rubs under the arms if they constantly pull.

Easy walk harness - lead atatches at the front, when they pull it tightens across the chest and turns them in to you...instantly stops pulling, i can easlly walk both dogs in one had while holding the hand of my 2 year old....but the fit isnt great as its tight to their armpits so i worry about rubbing and whether its comfortable..the chest strap has slipped down on my wider staff scooby, which lost me all control so i like to use a double ended lead, one on harness, one on collar. I feel this would work well if you were somewhere like town where you need them by your side but i do alot of country walking with long leads and i dont think its really designed for this...

treats - im trying hard with this, working on recall, however, if maisy sees something she wants to say hello to no amount of treats will distract her and when she starts scooby decides he'd like to say hello too! They're just so nosey! Smile

Im coming to the conclusion that the headcollar is prob the best at stopping pulling eventhough i dont like it...and its me who needs to train the dogs better! sigh
kate32
kate32
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Mega Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Location : north yorkshire
Dogs Name(s) : maisy n scooby
Dog(s) Ages : 2 n 3
Dog Gender(s) : female n male
Join date : 2012-03-07
Support total : 19
Posts : 200

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Wed Apr 11 2012, 02:35

Oh i will say for those who use head collars the safest way is the use a double ended lead so one end is attached to the head collar the other to a normal collar, harness etc as thats how they are recommended to be used.

Also the best way is to desensitise your dog to them so they ignore them and don't constantly try to pull it off their nose the whole walk

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Wed Apr 11 2012, 02:38

[quote="ella"]
Gee wrote:The pictures on the website made it look like there was a lot going on..lots of straps. Thats what I mean by busy.

Another review.

The Rain

Positives:

+ Troy walks lovely in the rain, right by my heal and sometimes even behind.
+ Rains more often than not in the UK so more nice walking.

Negatives:

- You get wet and muddy

Big Grin Laughing

Troy hates the rain. Had to drag him out of the porch at 5:30am this morning. Once he saw the rain he was having none of it! Too bad, gotta go!

Fair enough, the point of the extra straps is to stop the band riding in to your dogs eyes, which the other don't have, it still is very simple slide over the nose and clip behind the head and your done.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Wed Apr 11 2012, 10:37

ella wrote:Oh i will say for those who use head collars the safest way is the use a double ended lead so one end is attached to the head collar the other to a normal collar, harness etc as thats how they are recommended to be used.

That makes sense.

I just can't move away from how depressed Troy looks when it's on! Then other times when he is playing up, I wish I had a Halti in my pocket!

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by leigh46137 on Mon Apr 16 2012, 16:40

I use this shock absorber lead (short version) a triangular padded handle.
Grate for keeping Holly close and does not eat away at your hands.
http://www.ezydoguk.co.uk/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=30_31

Used with a standard collar.
http://www.ezydoguk.co.uk/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=174

and I just add on the extension part when needed.
http://www.ezydoguk.co.uk/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=74

Leigh

leigh46137
leigh46137
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Donator
Staffy-Bull-Terrier Donator

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Age : 36
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Holly
Dog Gender(s) : Girl
Join date : 2010-11-17
Support total : 32
Posts : 92

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by willowthewisp on Tue Apr 17 2012, 21:22

linzy wrote:Half Check Collar
No effect at all.

Halti head collar
Amazingly effective.
Violet hated wearing it. Spent most of her walks ploughing her nose against the ground trying to get it off.
Didn't feel like I had a lot of control over her.
Had to use 2 leads because I wasn't confident she wouldn't get out of it.
Looked like it might be squashing her eyes?

Halti body harness how is the halti body harness different from a normal harness?
Effective, but not as effective as the head collar.
She can still pull a bit.
Easier to correct her with this than the head collar. I feel this may have a more lasting effect on her walking.
Doesn't mind wearing it.
Rubs her shoulders slightly.

Bribery
Walks nicely to get sweets for a bit, then gets so excited about treats that she just kangaroo hops instead of walking.
willowthewisp
willowthewisp
"Top Rank" Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Top_ra10

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 48
Location : bedfordshire
Relationship Status : In a relationship
Dogs Name(s) : willow and chester
Dog(s) Ages : willow 3 years chester 2
Dog Gender(s) : willow female chester male
Join date : 2012-03-03
Support total : 32
Posts : 364

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by willowthewisp on Tue Apr 17 2012, 21:27

linzy wrote:Half Check Collar
No effect at all.

Halti head collar
Amazingly effective.
Violet hated wearing it. Spent most of her walks ploughing her nose against the ground trying to get it off.
Didn't feel like I had a lot of control over her.
Had to use 2 leads because I wasn't confident she wouldn't get out of it.
Looked like it might be squashing her eyes?

Halti body harness
Effective, but not as effective as the head collar.
She can still pull a bit.
Easier to correct her with this than the head collar. I feel this may have a more lasting effect on her walking.
Doesn't mind wearing it.
Rubs her shoulders slightly.

Bribery
Walks nicely to get sweets for a bit, then gets so excited about treats that she just kangaroo hops instead of walking.
how is the halti body harness different from a normal harness?
willowthewisp
willowthewisp
"Top Rank" Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Top_ra10

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 48
Location : bedfordshire
Relationship Status : In a relationship
Dogs Name(s) : willow and chester
Dog(s) Ages : willow 3 years chester 2
Dog Gender(s) : willow female chester male
Join date : 2012-03-03
Support total : 32
Posts : 364

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Tue Apr 17 2012, 21:32

willowthewisp wrote: how is the halti body harness different from a normal harness?

The Halti Harness has a D ring on the chest strap of the harness as well as the usual one on the back. If the dog pulls forward the lead attached to the front will use his own weight against him & turn him round towards you, when you can then praise/treat him for not pulling!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by linzy on Tue Apr 17 2012, 21:41

I saw a video on youtube that showed a way of wrapping the lead around a normal harness so that it worked in the same way as the halti harness, but I can't find it again.

Our walks are a million times better with the halti body harness, both of us are happier and we walk further which means a tired, therefore better behaved, dog!
linzy
linzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 32
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Violet
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-06-21
Support total : 25
Posts : 605

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Tue Apr 17 2012, 21:49

linzy wrote:I saw a video on youtube that showed a way of wrapping the lead around a normal harness so that it worked in the same way as the halti harness, but I can't find it again.

I remember that. I think it was posted here, but I don't know where. I tried it. Didn't work! Laughing

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by linzy on Tue Apr 17 2012, 22:20

I saw it when i was going through youtube trying to decide which anti-pull harness to order, but you know what it's like when you search for one thing, then click on another link, then another, and suddenly you're watching a dog that speaks English and wears a hat...

To be honest, I'm not surprised it didn't work - the dog in the video didn't look like it would pull away if there was a firework tied to its tail Sad
linzy
linzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 32
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Violet
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-06-21
Support total : 25
Posts : 605

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Guest on Tue Apr 17 2012, 22:23

linzy wrote: the dog in the video didn't look like it would pull away if there was a firework tied to its tail Sad

rolling on the floor rolling on the floor

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by willowthewisp on Fri Apr 20 2012, 19:38

so does it work well?
willowthewisp
willowthewisp
"Top Rank" Staffy-bull-terrier Member
Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Top_ra10

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 48
Location : bedfordshire
Relationship Status : In a relationship
Dogs Name(s) : willow and chester
Dog(s) Ages : willow 3 years chester 2
Dog Gender(s) : willow female chester male
Join date : 2012-03-03
Support total : 32
Posts : 364

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Nathan on Sat Apr 21 2012, 15:48

I got marley a new harness today and its fantastic. I was going to buy halti harnes and the pet shop had got one in in his size for me. They fitted it for me and we tried it around the shop and car park and it didnt make a blind bit of difference, after about 30 seconds he learnt to crab walk in it to counter the turning effect...
tried the halti head harnes and he nearly screamed the shop down Straight Face one of the girls suggested another harness that I had never heard of so we gave it a go and wow!
Here's a link http://www.companyofanimals.co.uk/products/dog-training-and-accessories/stop-pulling/nonpull-harness there is also a vid if you click to view the product demonstration button
Its a sporn non pull harness, we have just had an hour and half walk in woods so lots of deer, squirrels and dogs for distraction and compared to walking with his old harness it was a breeze.

So initial review.

Postives

Stops hard pulling instantly
Good control when dog is behind you or in front
Easy to fit and he doesnt mind it unlike old harness
Dog seems happier in it

Negatives

The fluffy padding so gonna be a git to clean
There is a long lead attachment that will get in the way if I off lead him so have to find somewhere to tuck it in

Comments.

It doesnt eliminate pulling entirerly, only training will sort that out but as an aid to training it has good potential. It did however stop the weightpull style low to ground pull like a steam train behaviour instantly. Control is good too, suprising as to where the lead attaches. I could easily steer him through trees and branches in the woods and it even worked well at the end of a long flexi. overall a thumbs up only big downside for me is the lead attachment.
Nathan
Nathan
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Hemel Hempstead
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Marley and Laska
Dog(s) Ages : 30/08/2011 Marley 03/05/12 Laska
Dog Gender(s) : Male Marley Female Laska
Join date : 2011-12-23
Support total : 626
Posts : 5377

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Sat Apr 21 2012, 22:30

Thanks for the review, think I have seen them for sale at Pets At Home too or another pet shop around here.

Still on the fence about using a non pull device at the moment. Still just trying to train him but how long I should wait? Who knows...

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Nathan on Sun Apr 22 2012, 10:23

try and find an independant retailer like i did and ask if you can test them out. you can then get a feel for what suits your dog best. I think whatever you go for you'll still have to do some training, despite all the claims there is no silver bullet when it comes to pulling.
Nathan
Nathan
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Hemel Hempstead
Relationship Status : Single
Dogs Name(s) : Marley and Laska
Dog(s) Ages : 30/08/2011 Marley 03/05/12 Laska
Dog Gender(s) : Male Marley Female Laska
Join date : 2011-12-23
Support total : 626
Posts : 5377

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Kathy on Mon Apr 23 2012, 14:40

We have just been back to Woodgreen for some bits and pieces for Rocky and picked up a new harness for him too. It's just a nylon strap type thingy as pictured below. It is made by Ancol and it is reflective too:

Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use 29334

Will post an update when we know how he gets on with it.

Edit: I posted the wrong picture before this is the harness we just got from Woodgreen (in black). It is not a non pull harness as such, it gives more support to the dog than just a collar, and is safer for when travelling in the car when it is attached to a seatbelt fixing.



Last edited by kathytake2 on Tue Apr 24 2012, 09:41; edited 6 times in total (Reason for editing : added further info.)
Kathy
Kathy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 47
Location : Bedfordshire
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Rocky
Dog(s) Ages : 5 Years Old
Dog Gender(s) : Male & a bit of a tart
Join date : 2011-08-02
Support total : 4006
Posts : 42107

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by linzy on Mon Apr 23 2012, 14:50

Update on the Halti body harness

We have been using this for 4 weeks, and her walking has improved SO MUCH. On Saturday she had been out with her harness on, and it got wet and wasn't dry before she needed back out, so I just popped her lead onto her collar as we were only going round the block. She walked PERFECTLY, and was actually walking so nicely, that when a man and his two kids stopped to talk to us, he said he was surprised she was a staffy because she was so nice and well behaved.

To be fair, we used treats alongside her harness to get her walking better, but I am so delighted that I can take her out a walk just on a normal collar, and I don't think we would've managed it without the anti-pull harness.
linzy
linzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 32
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Violet
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-06-21
Support total : 25
Posts : 605

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Gee on Tue Apr 24 2012, 07:48

kathytake2 wrote:We have just been back to Woodgreen for some bits and pieces for Rocky and picked up a new harness for him too. It's just a nylon strap type thingy as pictured below. It is made by Ancol and it is reflective too:

Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use Redimimg.php?image=179410

Will post an update when we know how he gets on with it.

PS: Do apologies for the picture of the Jack Russell. Big Grin

Cool. Is it a non pull device, how does it work?

linzy wrote:Update on the Halti body harness

We have been using this for 4 weeks, and her walking has improved SO MUCH. On Saturday she had been out with her harness on, and it got wet and wasn't dry before she needed back out, so I just popped her lead onto her collar as we were only going round the block. She walked PERFECTLY, and was actually walking so nicely, that when a man and his two kids stopped to talk to us, he said he was surprised she was a staffy because she was so nice and well behaved.

To be fair, we used treats alongside her harness to get her walking better, but I am so delighted that I can take her out a walk just on a normal collar, and I don't think we would've managed it without the anti-pull harness.

Thats great, glad to hear it! Do you find the Halti harness easy and quick to fit? And does it stop 'dashing' towards things, like cats etc?

Gee
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Male
Location : Huddersfield
Join date : 2012-01-25
Support total : 34
Posts : 728

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by linzy on Tue Apr 24 2012, 11:09

You just pop it over the head and then fasten underneath the belly. It's a bit tricky in that you don't want to nip their belly skin in the clasp, but if you put your hand between the clasp and the dog it's ok.

Violet is more of a constant puller just for the sake of pulling rather than pulling to get at something, but I do find that I have a lot of control over her with the harness on, and when she does try to get somewhere in particular, if she is pulling away from me, the harness brings her back round to face me.
linzy
linzy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 32
Location : Glasgow
Dogs Name(s) : Violet
Dog Gender(s) : female
Join date : 2011-06-21
Support total : 25
Posts : 605

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Kathy on Wed May 30 2012, 16:03

kathytake2 wrote:We have just been back to Woodgreen for some bits and pieces for Rocky and picked up a new harness for him too. It's just a nylon strap type thingy as pictured below. It is made by Ancol and it is reflective too:

Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use 29334

Will post an update when we know how he gets on with it.

Edit: I posted the wrong picture before this is the harness we just got from Woodgreen (in black). It is not a non pull harness as such, it gives more support to the dog than just a collar, and is safer for when travelling in the car when it is attached to a seatbelt fixing.


Can inform you all that Rocky is getting on well with this harness and has not escaped from it yet. He has been a bit of a Houdini with harnesses in the past, but so far so good. Just one critisism in that it does rub a little at the chest (but no where else) as it has no padding, but nothing really major.
Kathy
Kathy
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :
Online
Offline

Female
Age : 47
Location : Bedfordshire
Relationship Status : Married
Dogs Name(s) : Rocky
Dog(s) Ages : 5 Years Old
Dog Gender(s) : Male & a bit of a tart
Join date : 2011-08-02
Support total : 4006
Posts : 42107

Back to top Go down

Smile Re: Post a review of 'non pull' collars / harnesses / devices you have used / use

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum