Dog Behavior Myths

3 posters

Go down

Dog Behavior Myths Empty Dog Behavior Myths

Post by Nichole Sun Dec 05 2010, 21:00

Found this today and found it to be a good quick read and summarizes some canine behavioral myths that continue to be dominant despite the fact that they arent based on anything solid.

http://www.dogsincanada.com/fairy-tales-the-top-10-dog-behaviour-myths

Enjoy.

Edit by steve : i just added the link back

Last edited by Steve on Mon Dec 06 2010, 18:05; edited 2 times in total
Nichole
Nichole
Super Staffy-bull-terrier Member

Status Status :

Female
Dogs Name(s) : Sadie & Violet
Dog Gender(s) : Bitch x 2
Support total : 0

http://www.niroha.com

Back to top Go down

Dog Behavior Myths Empty Re: Dog Behavior Myths

Post by janey Sun Dec 05 2010, 21:17

Very interesting, and I know I'm not an expert but I don't agree with all
janey
janey
Staffy-Bull-Terrier VIP Member

Status Status :

Female
Dogs Name(s) : Moo
Dog(s) Ages : 5ish
Dog Gender(s) : Girly
Support total : 4824

Back to top Go down

Post by Nichole Sun Dec 05 2010, 21:26

There are stages of dog warnings. Dogs dont go from calm to biting - they have steps in between to warn whoever or whatever is around them. Stop it, I dont like that. If you take away a dogs tools and ability to warn then that leads to "unprovoked" bites.

In news papers you hear about dog attacks and how "the dog gave no warnings. Good dog, out of no where attacked" - it wasnt out of no where. The dog gave warnings. But some people punish the dog for those warnings. Now you have the perfect storm for being in that news paper.